Favorite Passages from Game of Thrones: A Clash of Kings

14 Dec

Tyrion

imgres

She slapped him.
“Did you think I was as blind as Father?” Tyrion rubbed his cheek. “Who you lie with is no matter to me…although it doesn’t seem quite just that you should open your legs for one brother and not the other.”
She slapped him.
“Be gentle, Cersei, I’m only jesting with you. If truth be told, I’d sooner have a nice whore. I never understood what Jaime saw in you, apart from his own reflection.”
She slapped him.

imgres-1

“How goes your recruiting?”
“Well enough. Three new men tonight.”
“How do you know which ones to hire?”
“I look them over. I question them, to learn where they’ve fought and how well they lie.” Bronn smiled. “And then I give them a chance to kill me, while I do the same for them.”
“Have you killed any?”
“No one we could have used.”
“And if one of them kills you?”
“He’ll be the one you’ll want to hire.”
Tyrion was a little drunk, and very tired. “Tell me, Bronn. If I told you to kill a babe… an infant girl, say, still at her mother’s breast… would you do it? Without question?”
“Without question? No.” The sellsword rubbed thumb and forefingers together. “I’d ask how much.”

euclase-tyrion-lannister

“…when you’ve know me longer, you’ll learn that I mean everything I say.”
“Even the lies?”
“Especially the lies. Lord Petyr…”

imgres-2

“Aerys Targaryen did as he liked. Has your mother ever told you what happened to him?”
Ser Boros Blount harrumphed. “No man threatens His Grace in the presence of the Kingsguard.”
Tyrion Lannister raised an eyebrow. “I am not threatening the king, ser, I am educating my nephew. Bronn, Timmett, the next time Ser Boros opens his mouth, kill him” The dwarf smiled. “Now that was a threat, ser. See the difference?”

Tyrion-Lannister-Varys-tyrion-lannister-30900287-1280-671

“Don’t you see the jest, Lord Varys?” Tyrion waved a hand at the shuttered windows, at all the sleeping city. “Storm’s End is fallen and Stannis is coming with fire and steel and the gods alone know what dark powers, and the good folk don’t have Jaime to protect them, nor Robert nor Renly nor Rhaegar nor their precious Knight of Flowers. Only me, the one they hate.” He laughed again. “The dwarf, the evil counselor, the twisted little monkey demon. I’m all that stands between them and chaos.”

Arya

imgres-4

Every night Arya would say their names. “Ser Gregor,” she’d whisper to her stony pillow. “Dunsen, Polliver, Chiswyck, Raff the Sweetling. The Tickler and the Hound. Ser Amory, Ser Ilyn, Ser Meryn, King Joffrey, Queen Cersei.” Back in Winterfell, Arya had prayed with her mother in the sept and with her father in the godswood, but there were no gods on the road to Harrenhal, and her names were the only prayer she cared to remember.

imgres-5

It wasn’t Harren, Arya wanted to say, it was me. She had killed Chiswyck with a whisper, and she would kill two more before she was through. I’m the ghost in Harrenhal, she thought. And that night, there was one less name to hate.

Arya-Stark-game-of-thrones-18154535-500-281

Then, so faintly, it seemed as if she heard her father’s voice. “When the snow fall and the white winds blow, the lone wolf dies, but the pack survives,” he said…”You are Arya of Winterfell, daughter of the north. You told me you could be strong. You have the wolf blood in you.”

69805862945171614

Cursing her softly, the man went to a knee to grope for the coin in the dirt, and there was his neck right in front of her. Arya slid her dagger out and drew it across his throat, as smooth as summer silk. His blood covered her hands in a hot gush and he tried to shout but there was blood in his mouth as well. “Valar morghulis.” she whispered as he died.

Jaqen H’ghar

69805862945764501

“A man pays his debts. A man owes three.”
“Three?”
“The Red God has his due, sweet girl, and only death pay for life. This girl took three that were his. This girl must give three in their places. Speak the names, and a man will do the rest.”

Jon Snow

Jon-Snow-and-Jeor-Mormont-house-stark-24504813-786-575

“…Robb will rule, you will serve. Men will call you a crow. Him they’ll call Your Grace. Singers will praise every little thing he does, while your greatest deeds all go unsung. Tell me that none of this troubles you, Jon… and I’ll name you a liar, and know I have the truth of it.”
Jon drew himself up, taut as a bowstring. “And if it did trouble me, what might I do, bastard as I am?”
“What will you do?” Mormont asked. “Bastard as you are?”
“Be troubled,” said Jon. “and keep my vows.”

GameOfThrones_S2_EP206_05

“If I had needed her dead, I would have left her with Ebben, or done the thing myself.”
“Then why did you command it of me?”
“I did not command it. I told you to do what needed to be done, and left you to decide what that would be.” Qhorin stood and slid his longsword back into its scabbard. “When I want a mountain scaled, I call on Stonesnake. Should I need to put an arrow through the eye of some foe across the windy battlefield, I summon Squire Dalbridge. Ebben can make any man give up his secrets. To lead men you must know them, Jon Snow. I know more of you now than I did this morning.”
“And if I had slain her?” asked Jon.
“She would be dead, and I would know you better than I had before.”

Varys

tumblr_m3n0gbtWbG1qzwurao1_500

“Who truly killed Eddard Stark, do you think? Joffrey, who gave the command? Ser Illy Payne, who swung the sword? Or…another?”
Tyrion cocked his head sideways. “Did you mean to answer your damned riddles, or only to make my head ache worse?”
Varys smiled. “Here, then. Power reside where men believe it resides. No more and no less.”
“So power is a mummer’s trick?”
“A shadow on the wall,” Varys murmured, “yet shadows can kill. And ofttimes a very small man can cast a very large shadow.”
Tyrion smiled. “Lord Varys, I am growing strangely fond of you. I may kill you yet, but I think I’d feel sad about it.”
“I will take that as high praise.”

Catelyn Stark

Stannis-house-baratheon-30706015-500-600

Catelyn was remembering, fitting pieces together. “My sister Lysa accused the queen of killing her husband in a letter she sent me at Winterfell,” she admitted. “Later, in the Eyrie, she laid the murder at the feet of the queen’s brother Tyrion.”
Stannis snorted. “If you step in a nest of snakes, does it matter which one bites you first?”

jaime-lannister-looking-dirty-thumb-550x386-44208

“Why should I tell you anything?”
“To save your life.”
“You think I fear death?” That seemed to amuse him.
“You should. Your crimes will have earned you a place of torment in the deepest of the seven hells, if the gods are just.”
“What gods are these, Lady Catelyn? The trees your husband prayed to? How well did they serve him when my sister took his head off?” Jaime gave a chuckle. “If there are gods, why is the world so full of pain and injustice?”
“Because of me like you.”
“There are no men like me. There’s only me.”
“Aerys was mad, the whole realm knew it, but if you would have me believe you slew him to avenge Brandon Stark…”
“I made no such claim. The Starks were nothing to me. I will say, I think it passing odd that I am loved by one for a kindness I never did, and reviled by so many for my finest act…”

Cercei

cersei_sansa

“…Robert wanted smiles and cheers, always, so he went where he found them, to his friends and his whores. Robert wanted to be loved. My brother Tyrion has the same disease. Do you want to be loved, Sansa?”
“Everyone wants to be lover.”
“I see flowering hasn’t made you any brighter,” said Cersei. “Sansa, permit me to share a bit of womanly wisdom with you on this very special day. Love is poison. A sweet poison, yes, but it will kill you all the same.”

Theon

got-game-of-thrones-32621879-500-281

“With thirty men, I captured Winterfell in a night. You needed a thousand and a moon’s turn to take Deepwood Motte.”
“Well, I’m no great warrior like you, brother.” She quaffed half a horn of ale and wiped her mouth with the back of her hand. “I saw the heads above your gates. Tell me true, which one gave you the fiercest fight, the cripple or the babe?”

3 Responses to “Favorite Passages from Game of Thrones: A Clash of Kings”

  1. Jamaal July 8, 2014 at 9:22 am #

    It’s hard to find your blog in google. I found it on 22 spot, you should build quality backlinks
    , it will help you to increase traffic. I know how to help you, just type in google – k2 seo
    tricks

  2. Aaron Krowne October 21, 2014 at 7:04 pm #

    I love Game of Thrones!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favorite Quotes from Game of Thrones: Season 1 « Importantish - December 14, 2012

    […] Favorite quotes from book two: A Clash of Kings […]

Leave a Reply

