The Genius of Beethoven (BBC Documentary)

10 Nov

Words: Poetry Jam – Shane Koyczan’s Beethoven

No words: Opus 131, Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo

8 Responses to “The Genius of Beethoven (BBC Documentary)”

  1. musiqdragonfly November 12, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Thank you for this post, it reminds me of Beethoven indeed, such a great person (with my deep admiration). I have watched the BBC documentary on him before, it again tells how incapable I am of understanding him (his tortuous life experience)! When listening to your video of op131 (it is killingly beautiful), I thought of a verse from him :

    “It was impossible for me to say to others: speak louder; shout! for I am deaf. Ah! was it possible for me to proclaim a deficiency in that one sense which in my case ought to have been more perfect than in all others, which I had once possessed in greatest perfection, to a degree of perfection, indeed, which few of my profession have ever enjoyed?”

    Such a solitary, emotional, passionate, musical …. person, but I do not find him hysterical, I therefore could not connect myself to the poetry of Shane Koyczan (whose “performance” stresses me and I don’t share that urgency of tone), I do sometimes feel certain angriness in Beethoven’s music but I never find hysteria in him, instead I find hysteria in myself (ha!).

    • wubr2000 November 12, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      I think that quote is from his Heiligenstadt testament.

      • musiqdragonfly November 12, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

        Then it must be right.

      • musiqdragonfly November 29, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

        The trail of comments of this post of yours appears on my WP, that I learn today is your birthday. Hope you’ve a wonderful celebration, and my best wishes do not come in too late :

        When a fiddler matures, the sweeter its tune;
        Men are like wine, the best improves with age.

        from Musiqdragonfly

        • wubr2000 November 30, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

          Thank you. I hope I will keep on improving!

          • musiqdragonfly November 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

            So does everyone, I constantly feel ashamed of myself for what I have said and done …. you provide a good hint to me that I still have a chance to make amend by improving myself.

  2. Drawing Queen November 29, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    Happy birthday friend. May God bless you and keep you everyday.

    • wubr2000 November 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      Thank you. God has blessed me abundantly this year and has also made me stronger, more confident (not in an arrogant way but in an understanding/accepting way), and grew in faith.

      May He be a blessing to you too!

Leave a Reply

