A New Day!

17 Apr

Today, April 17, 2012, I was born.

Over lunch today and under the guidance of my 2:7 leader, I recited the Sinner’s Prayer and accepted Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior.

It has taken about six months or so. But during this time, I came closer and closer to Him. It was almost inevitable that I’d take this step. I started taking the 2:7 Discipleship course back in September 2011. Back then, it was just to learn more about Christianity. But over time, I not only learned more about Christianity but got to know more about the Christian community and the character of Christ and God. It was when we had to write a personal testimony last month that I reflected on where I stood. I realized that I’ve already come a long way. Not only that, I noticed that my faith has led me to change. These changes were small and almost imperceptible but over time, small changes add up. For example, I started to notice that I no longer crave or envy things that I used to crave and envy for. I also noticed that I’m more appreciative of little things in life and cherish relationships rather than things. At first, I felt that I was swimming against the tide – that I had to force myself to act and think against my own instincts. I was struggling a lot to live to this standard and almost gave up. But then, the tide turned and it became easier and easier. Now to the point that it’s almost like I have a new second nature. And the more I look at it, the more I realize also that it’s not because of my own strength that I am changing. Because if it was up to my old self, my own self, I’d never change. It was because of a genuine belief in His love, His mercy, His power, His plan.

Although I have not seen any visible fruits in the worldly sense yet – I continue to have problems finding a job or finding a right partner or living a fruitful life – I am no longer anxious for them – I believe they will come. Also I am beginning to sense that He was always there but I just didn’t listen before. But recently, He has given me a new “foundation”, a new beginning. He took away the old and is giving me a chance to start anew. He’s guiding me down a path that He has wanted me to walk on all along – because He’s made me that way. The way I was before, that was just my disobedience and wanting things my way, whether it was with “good intention” or not it didn’t matter. Now I will try my best to listen and to obey. To find out what His will is for my life; to receive His blessings; to learn the lessons He wants to teach me. Without complaints, without fear. As He told Joshua:”Be strong and courageous” and as Joshua said: “choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”

Today, I have chosen: To be strong and courageous and to serve the Lord.

3 Responses to “A New Day!”

  1. Drawing queen August 22, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Congrats.

    • wubr2000 August 22, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks. It’s just a first step. Didn’t realize it’s not so easy :)

      • Drawing queen August 23, 2012 at 6:38 am #

        I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. (Philippians 4:13)
        I believe you can make it. Add oil!

Leave a Reply

